RSS Feed

About Me

My name is Kristen Van Loon and I just bought a house. It’s an overwhelming, clean slate with white walls and carpet as neutral as Switzerland. That’s not to say there’s no charm (I wouldn’t have signed my life away on a 30(!!!)-year-mortgage if it was a windowless block of wood paneling,) but there’s just no oomf. You know, *Oomf!* That sparkling lightness you feel when you walk into a space, but you just can’t put your finger on the thing that makes it so great? The flow, the colors, the light, the functionality- that is *Oomf!* This is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!*

Now, I know what you’re thinking, “another bored housewife decorating her home with her husbands money while the kids are at school.” No no no, my friend. You see, I work full time at a job that pays me… well, as much as a 26-year-old is worth to a company. I have a toddler and a boyfriend who does what he can, but at the end of the day he is still a football watching, poker playing, throw-your-clothes-on-the-floor-right-next-to-the-hamper kind of guy. I have some experience, no time, no formal training and no money, but I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired.

You can follow my journey for a multitude of reasons. You may

  • be looking for cheap alternatives to expensive ideas.
  • wonder how the hell I plan to pull this off.
  • need suggestions on fun (and durable) rooms that work every day.
  • have the desire to look inside a stranger’s house (it’s O.K., we all have it.)
  • have a sick sense of humor (because I will post my failures.)

I won’t ever suggest things that aren’t safe. Even though I am a newbie, I am only marginally incompetent. If resources (boyfriend, father, Google) tell me not to do it, I sure won’t try. But if I try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear about that as well. A house is always a work-in-progress. There isn’t a lot of money to go around these days (have you noticed that too?) so it’s a “project-by-project as I can afford it” type of plan. Old stuff will be refurbished, others may be Red Tag clearance.

There is no plan and it is going to be a bumpy ride.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

One response »

  1. Can’t wait to see what you get into! I’m just starting out too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

