RSS Feed

Cheap Headboards? Yes please!

My mentality is that I must maintain the illusion of comfort. If you ever went to college, you have probably mastered this art form. You had $12.00 in your checking account but you looked like a million bucks. How did you do it? You borrowed from your roommate and bought toiletries at the dollar store. You see? You don’t have to spend a lot of money to make something look stylish, you just have to know what makes something look cheap and try to avoid that like the plague.

I came up with a couple headboard ideas for the bedrooms in my house. I have a headboard and a footboard that no longer fit into the jagged, bent frame. My plan is to seperate these, keep the headboard for my room and use the footboard for my daughter’s headboard. But juuuuust in case that doesn’t work out, I have been researching some alternative ideas. I am extremely impressed with some of the homemade setups, but others make me wonder who the hell told these people that their arrangements were good.

I would like to share some of my findings with you now.

 

I like where they were going here.

 

When it comes to homemade headboards, this one is really as good as it gets. Whoever made it seems pretty handy with a staple gun and jigsaw, and the material is bold but simple. The only issue I have is the mustard color that is ever present on 80% of the fabric in this room. To be fair, the headboard execution is awesome and looks high-end, the color scheme, however, may need a little tweaking. A-

 
 
 

They obviously have a lot to say...

Again, this is a decent idea that just turned out…messy. When making a “cheap version” of something, you still want to use more expensive materials. The curtain rod is pretty run-of-the-mill, but it could pass as something more expensive if the “curtain” hanging from it didn’t look like it was stolen off the neighbors clothes line and written on by a depressed, but soulful freshman. When I think of my perfect bedroom, I think of relaxation and turning my brain OFF. This wordy jumble is a little too overwhelming for my typical 11:30 p.m. mindset.  You could definitely pull this off with better material and a curtain with texture. C+

 
 

Down on the farm

This style of headboard is what I have in mind for my bedroom. Granted I may not be using robin’s egg blue and pea green, but the concept works because it is authentic. This headboard is a painted piece of wood that was probably bought at a flea market, and it LOOKS like a painted piece of wood bought at a flea market. The fact that it’s not trying to trick you into thinking it’s something more makes it seem as though it were intentionally shabby-chic and not just a low cost alternative. B

 

This is pretty medieval

 On the surface, this headboard option seems like a good idea. It’s simple. It’s chic. It could stab you in the eye or slice open your hand in the middle of the night. This headboard may be aesthetically appealing, but the functionality definitely falls short. Would you went to rest your back against this while reading or watching T.V.? The other problem is that an iron screen may not be all that cost effective. Because this idea isn’t practical, the fact that you would choose to put metal next to your sleeping head makes it obvious that you didn’t choose this for comfort, you chose it for price, which is never a message you want to send. Although it’s an intersting idea, you could just buy a wooden headboard from a home improvement salvage that is just as inexpensive and is still comfortable. C-

 

 

Chic and Safe

This last idea is a variation of the “jab me to death with the iron screen” idea. There are several things that make this work for me. The first being that it is part of a very muted color palette- which is tops for me when it comes to a bedroom. Also, the material is rounded and looks almost floral, which offsets the severity of a “metal headboard.” The only thing I don’t really like (again) is the actual day-to-day function of it. You could not comfortably rest against this while watching T.V. because it is still a harsh piece of metal protruding into your skin. BUT the beauty of this piece is that it is not a screen, and you have the option to hang it high enough to allow your back or head to rest on the wall without getting rounded, curly branches imprinted in your shoulder blades. Again, this concept works for me because it all works together. The colors, the comfy bedding, the juxtaposition of metal art and soft materials, but mostly the fact that a piece of art like this would cost 75% less than a new headboard AND it is styled so well that no one would ever guess you chose to use art because it was easier on the wallet. Solid A.

 
As long as you create the right mix, anything can seem high-end. But at the end of the day, it’s not just about “maintaining the illusion of comfort,” it’s also about being comfortable in the space you keep.
About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

