RSS Feed

Girls in Tool Belts

Sometimes, it’s the most logical things that escape our attention. Here are some reminders of organization strategies that (once you need them) you will be so happy you did. You’ll see what I mean…

BAM! It's right where you need it!

How many times does a simple project go too far and you end up running to the garage 8 times for a screwdriver, hammer, miter saw? By keeping these obvious necessities hidden inside you will forgo the trip to the cold garage and the dirty white socks (Really? Are you going to put shoes on to go to the garage for 4 seconds? Yeah, I didn’t think so.)

When you do have to store tools in the garage, there is always the risk of them

Even a child could do it!

not being returned to the correct spot. If you’re family is anything like mine, there is more than one person using the tools but perhaps only one person putting them back in their proper space. This nifty (even slightly passive-aggressive) tactic will ensure that they return to their home without a lot of nagging.

Hello cheap alternative

As I have previously mentioned, I don’t like to spend money unless it is ABSOLUTELY necessary. I have researched the price of hose reels and they can get up to $100! For a hose! Who would spend that if they can avoid it!? Well you CAN avoid it and save about $95. Saving boat loads of money can look a little sloppy, but this just looks smart.

These next few suggestions just make sense. These are the ones that right now you may think “why go through the trouble?” But later you’ll be thinking “I’m so glad I listened to that crazy lady online.”

A random house catastrophe may occur (O.K. maybe a fuse blowing isn’t a catastrophe) but you are prepared nonetheless with these obvious yet rarely practiced organization strategies.

It's obvious, but you just don't think about it until it happens..

 

 

 

Flashlights like this are actually sold with a metal strip right on them. See? Even Maglite wants you to be prepared.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s funny how labels like this are kind of a big deal when it comes down to it. The

I wouldn't want to guess in the moment of truth.

last thing you want to do when you’re installing new fixtures is experiment to see which valve goes where.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the random touch ups.

It may seem like a waste of perfectly good Tupperware, but this guarantees you “lock in the freshness,” or at least keep the paint from drying up inside of a can you thought you closed tight enough. Also, marking which room the colors belong really makes the job a snap when you are trying to differentiate between your dining room’s “Sunshine yellow” and the bathroom’s “Golden Morning Yellow.”

 

 

 

 

Again with the random crap. Maybe I am being a little bit nit-picky with this last

This is just clever.

suggestion, but I don’t want to hoard any information that may possibly change someone’s life. That’s right, I am arrogant enough to think that I am making a difference in the world.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

