RSS Feed

Repetitive Vignettes

Vignette seems to be the watchword of the hour, for me anyway. Creating a nice little cluster of things that are appealing in one area just sounds like it would be a good idea. The scary thing about vignette is that you want to make it look natural. If you have a really cool nightstand with a pretty vase of flowers, intricate painting and mosaic jewelery box all grouped together and just have a five feet of emptiness on each side of it, it doesn’t look natural. I’ve decided that I feel like the best design is when your eye can scan a room and be equally pleased by everything. That doesn’t mean that there is no focal point, but it means that the focal point is blended well with the rest of the room.

So I have searched for easy vignettes. The ones that you don’t have to work very hard for; that are intricate but still casual enough that your eye doesn’t sit on it and then wonder why the rest of the room is so boring. I think I have found my answer, and it’s a collectors dream. It’s a grouping of the same object in all shapes, styles, sizes or colors. It still has to be calculated (sorry, there is some planning involved) but is much easier than trying to arrange completely different objects.

A picture vignette. Perhaps slightly unimaginative, but at least there is some

Someone sure likes butterflies.

variation on size and subject. But the color palette is quite lame. I think we can do better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This plate display really does spice up the wall. I don’t know what is going on with the lamp that is growing out of the ground next to it, but the plates give a little more color variety. Even though this is still a bit dull, at least there are some color options the homeowner can pull from the plates to switch up the accessory or furniture color.

Really though, what's up with that lamp?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A great thing about pillows is that they can go anywhere, get recovered, and

Like*

always make a space more cozy. To call a group of pillows a vignette isn’t exactly accurate, but I love the different shapes, colors and sizes going on. Besides, the mix of patterns and textures in the room are pretty killer and very unexpected. If this were facebook, I’d totally “like” this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is anyone else thirsty?

If we were searching for the most monochromatic house in America, I think we could stop looking. I know this was suppose to be about vignettes, but seriously I am almost angry at this room for being so dull. The goblet selection at the top would be way cooler if there was a teal backdrop and the white really popped, but there isn’t and they don’t. The shapes are pretty interesting though and it probably took a long time (searching through every Salvation Army in the state) to find that many white goblets, boring as they are in this setting.

 

Geometry at work.

To bounce back from the white-on-beige-on-white cluster room, I thought it would be appropriate to show you my most favorite group; the weird shit vignette. Now obviously this is slightly more advanced than plates on a wall, but it’s not just the craziness on the mantle that makes this neat. The color and pattern continue throughout the room, so even though this is a crazy shit vignette, it doesn’t look all that odd because the whole room is mimicking the set-up.

 

 

 

So now it’s time to choose; dishware, pillows or weird shit. No matter what you pick, it’s next to impossible to mess-up.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

