RSS Feed

Kitchen Space Optimizers

Some old houses have amazing cabinet storage that reach up to the ceiling. Granted you can’t reach anything up there without a chair or sitting on someone’s shoulders, but there is great storage space nonetheless. Well, good for those people, but my kitchen was built in the 60’s, when everyone had their matching pots and pans and tupperware that all fit neatly inside of each other and could be folded away without a game of kitchen Tetris.

But here is a list of my Top Three Kitchen Space Optimizers!

1) Do you know how many times I have opened a cabinet and ended-up covered

Orderly Oven Items

in an avalanche of pots and cookie sheets? This little device looks like it should be in my office holding folders and binders and maybe that’s where this “type A” inventor got the idea. Regardless of where it came from, I know exactly where it’s going- my cabinet.

Stacking without danger.

2) How freakin’ sweet is this? You can literally triple your shelf space with this little beauty. Plus, it forces you to get organized; no more haphazardly stacking dinner plates on top of salad plates with saucers teetering at the top.

3) This is by far my most favorite discovery. I think the reason for it being so

Out-of-the-way and in-reach

high on my list is that yes, maybe Bed Bath and Beyond does sell the “Fantastic Pot Lid Door-Hanging Holder” for $34.99, and not only does it hold lids it’s also an alarm clock and iPod (am I getting across how unnecessary I find BBandB products?), but you could just stick up a towel bar or wooden dowel for under $15 and it does the exact same job! I am a huge fan because along with pans and cookie sheets sliding down on my head in a kitchen-landslide, lids are usually falling with them; this is just a simple way to organize items which allows easy access when you need it.

These swanky Do-Dads may be overkill for the average homeowner, but in my house, organization always seems just out of reach. All it takes is a few cupboard inserts to allow safe passage in the kitchen without the threat of falling Teflon-coated iron.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

