RSS Feed

Skip the Trip: Entryway Order

You know what feels awesome? Walking into your house after a long day of work and kicking off your shoes at the door with a big, exaggerated sigh. You know what doesn’t feel so awesome? Walking into the house AFTER that person and tripping over their shoes that they left in a heaping pile by the door.

In order to avoid that debacle, I have some smart and fun solutions to the “breaking my neck at the door” problem.

 

I like to call this one “Hello, kindergarteners.” It may seem like it is an insanely bright alternative, but once you look past the hunter orange jacket, garish purse and bright magazine selection on top, you see that this set-up is only as bright and colorful as the items you place on it. I mean, it’s brushed nickel and brown, it’s hard to get more neutral than that.

It's not just smart, it's bright!

 

From a distance this next idea, even though it uses intense colors, may seem a bit easier on the eyes. The colors used aren’t contrasting so even though they are neon, they don’t seem so loud. Obviously, this arrangement is only as colorful as you make it. You can switch out the green cabinet for something more muted or use regular metal pals instead of these “Super Fabulous” ones.

Bucket labels are key for 2 or more kids.

 

I’m not sure exactly what part of me is drawn to this. I think it’s the soothing purple and brilliant green combination. This is a very simple display, yet it’s very functional. I also love that it gives an alternative to a coat closet. I know it doesn’t take a genius to think of using a coat rack, but sometimes you just think of how messy a coat rack can get and you want to avoid it. This probably isn’t the BEST choice for families with children, but it does the job nicely.

Sometimes simple is the answer.

If you do plan to choose the above option or something similar, you may run into a small snag. Maybe you don’t have kids, but a dirty job or a Michigan winter also comes along with filthy or soggy (or both) footwear. If this sounds like something you may contend with, you need not worry. As long as you have a baking sheet to spare then your problem is solved.

Not just for cookies anymore.

This final option is the closest to how my entryway is set-up…..OK this one is way better, but I’ll get there one day. Again, looking past the actual items that are being stored, this is a very efficient storage option, even if it is a bit colorless. You could always dye a few wicker baskets and paint the wooden boxes, but if they are hidden behind a door and you aren’t interested in the the visual appeal, naked wood is always for sale.

Keep it dull or spice it up.

 

Regardless of the organization strategy, your significant other (or anyone entering the house) will thank you.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

