RSS Feed

Controlling the Remote

Can you find your remote? What about the DVD player remote? Or that one weird remote that you found last month that you had no idea what it went to, but now you know it’s for that old CD player, where did that one go?

If this sounds even remotely (O.K. I’ll stop now) familiar, then there are other options than just looking in the couch cushions.

 

What? You don't have 4 remotes?

I like this one because, even though it is a little rough around the edges, it is made to be hidden. I know, just what you need, even more hidden remotes. But you can just tack this little box to the inside of a cabinet and close them all away. This is also a nice option if you have toddlers who like to grab things off low surfaces and go wandering with them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This next little guy is pretty much fool-proof and (let’s admit it) some people need obvious simplicity. Set this wire basket out on a table; it’s kitschy enough to be interesting, but transparent enough to stay out of the spotlight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No embarrassment with this guy!

And of course, you know I like to class it up a bit. This might be the most refined piece of electronic wrangling equipment that I have ever seen. Granted, you don’t have to make it the Thanksgiving centerpiece the way this picture implies you should, but you don’t have to disgracefully hide it away when company comes.

 

 

 

 

 

Personally, I’d rather have it in a box or basket than chilling under the couch with a lost flip-flop and half-eaten candy necklace. Whether you choose to house your remotes in a shoe box or trade them all in for a universal remote, the name of the game is convenience.

 

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

