RSS Feed

Headboard Headache

There is this headboard that has been irking me to no end! It’s for my daughter and usually the projects for her are a little complicated. On one end I would like things to be fun. On the other I would like it to be durable. Also add in chic and fit for a toddler and I just end up with a bunch of question marks. This project has just been one miss-step after another. At this point I am satisfied, but once I see it in her new room I will know for sure if I’ve really pulled it off!

This is how it started. A gnarly, country headboard that I bought for $50, along with a footboard, bed frame, dresser and mirror. As you can tell, it was a bargain. It wasn’t bad quality, it was just very taste specific- meaning

This isn't off to a good start, huh?

you had to have NO taste to truly appreciate it. I was in college, so it worked for the time being.

I don't know what I was thinking.

I decided to paint the whole thing white. Then I was stuck. What parts do I paint and what do I leave white? What colors should I use? I finally decided to wing it…as you can see that didn’t work well for me.

I was just mixing paints without a plan. And to make things worse I was missing a few colors that I wanted so I just grabbed a couple of my daughters paints and added in a couple squirts to tint up my colors. This wouldn’t have been a problem if her paints weren’t WASHABLE. Grrr! Damn, I thought I was smarter than that. SO when I decided to paint over this crap with white and start fresh, all of the colors ran and smudged because of the liquid in the white loosening up the washable paint that was in the layer that was being covered. I actually sprayed the whole thing down with water and scraped it off. Finally, I started over with a white headboard again.

I decided to go a different direction and try to create the same green color that was in her curtains. When all else

But still not quite there.

fails just go back to Design 101- when being creative doesn’t work, be smart. Pull other colors from the room for a cohesive look. I must have been sick that day in class. But I eventually came to this point and hot-glued some little, blue gemstone rocks that typically fill vases onto the front. I feel like it took away some of the country feel.

I started to warm-up to the headboard finally, but it needed a pop of color. Luckily I had some hot pink, sheer curtains laying around (I mean, who doesn’t?) I knew that they would really pop with the white, but how to apply them? Well I had several plans.

I tried "The Weave."

I tried "The Staple and Pray," but this left me with a fabric tail.

I even tried "Gathering Craft Supplies together and Hoping for the Best." That didn't work either.

A little hammer therapy

So I did what any self-respecting girl would do. I grabbed a hammer and started swinging away at that sonofabitch. It caused me a lot of anguish and I was just done! OK, maybe that’s a little dramatic. I ACTUALLY decided that the embellished bars were the problem. They made the whole thing look a little too country and made it next to impossible to add the fabric in an orderly manner.

Then I assessed the damage.

"What have I done?"

Apparently it made all of the difference in the world. I repainted some of the white that was chipped and the raw wood that showed from where the bars broke. And then I took my Staple Gun (for the 3rd? Maybe 4th, time) and uniformly folded the curtain and stapled it around the back rectangular windows.

And this is what came out.

It will look differently out of the garage.

Stapled at the back

On a pretty angle.

Here is the headboard in action! Totally worth the headache.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

