RSS Feed

Painting and Planning should go Hand in Hand

I went to bed at 4am and here I am “bright-eyed and bushy-tailed” at work at 8am. I probably wouldn’t feel so crummy about this situation if I could totally stand behind what I stayed up doing last night, but here I am just second guessing myself.

I wanted my daughter’s room to be done when we moved into the new house so she could be settled and have NO MORE changes. Me and my boyfriend busted our asses last night painting and digging through boxes for her little nightlight and familiar bedroom accessories, but now I don’t feel great about it.

You see, my house was build in 1963. It has awesome bones, it is just stylistically challenged (that’s the politically correct term.) All the trim is a natural wood color- baseboards, window frames, door frames, ALL OF IT! The wall colors and the wood trim makes every room seem really heavy and I am all about light and airy. So my genius plan was to paint all of the wood in the house white. It’s classic, it’s light, it’s a pain in the ass. Not that I am opposed to hard work, but it is next to impossible to get in all of the grooves and corners.

And to add insult to injury, the white glossy paint that I had planned to use was forgotten at the rental today. Me and my brilliant ideas, I decided to just paint the trim with a *mistint*<3 that I had recently picked up. It is a very subtle light blue, but the walls are yellow so I thought it’d have some nice pop, PLUS there are other blue accents in the room. However, it is not glossy in the least- a fact I did not think to check first.

++++Just a piece of advice, if you are going to paint trim, it should be at LEAST a semi-gloss. It’s easier to clean and is just more appealing in those highlighting areas than a flat++++

Now I have dull, slightly blue trim. I am not a fan. I may actually just sand it off, which should be simple because matte doesn’t stick like glossy anyway. I’ve decided to wait until the room is full of furniture to do anything drastic. And even at THAT point I may just try to paint over the blue with the originally intended glossy white.

Trim Color- ish

Floor

Wall Color

I know I am going through a lot of a anguish over a toddler’s room, but the first room that is decorated sets the tone for the whole house! Maybe I will just consider my mini-pantry that I did two days ago a room, that way the makeover precedent will be favorable!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

