RSS Feed

All Wrapped Up (and no place to go)

I have been organizing like nuts! All of the little boxes and caddies that fit so perfectly in the old house don’t seem fit for the new house. I decided to go old school on rearranging my little ditties (at least for the time being). By “old school” I mean using shelves and drawers without spacers or pretty boxes. Coming from ME, captain organizer and master/commander of backup plans, this is pretty radical… but I digress.

Now that I have said “no” to all of my containers, there isn’t much left to give my spaces spunk. 

So I decided to take it back even OLDER school (yeah, I make up things like that all of time time.). Shelf liner. I know everyone knows what it is, but many people don’t use it. I only used it in the kitchen for the longest time because, honestly, it’s $2 for maybe 3 yards of the cushy stuff and it’s hard to find any cute prints that aren’t cushy.

O.K., so I haven't TOTALLY given up containers, but these bath toys aren't going to contain themselves.

But I found a way around it– wrapping paper. I’m sure you have heard before, “High quality wrapping paper makes great shelf liner.” But if you’re going to buy high quality wrapping paper then you might as well just shell out that same amount for cushy shelf paper. The thing of it is though, it doesn’t have to be high quality.

We all know about Target. (Right?) You know the trap they set for you right when you walk in and you can get a pair of Valentine’s Day socks or a lunchbox for only $1? Well you can usually get wrapping paper there too. $1 for about 10 feet of wrapping paper is killer, and you can use it on more than one room. OR even better, you have enough money to buy more than one design and switch it up in every room.

Glossy is of course the best because items can slide over it easier without snagging, because, what good is a bargain if it doesn’t work well?

So far I have no complaints. And for everyone who has received a gift from me in the past couple weeks; I didn’t just give you: (1) a tea set (2) an autographed baseball (3) a crazy, unknown item at Bed Bath and Beyond that was on your registry to I just bought it; I ALSO got you shelf paper, so (1) Congratulations (2) I’m thinking of you (3) Have fun on your honeymoon.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

