RSS Feed

Toile (twäl) on my Wall.

I just got home from Douglas & Son in Kalamazoo. They are having a sale with 10% off paint and wallpaper. PLUS wallpaper usually has a 10%-20% discount as it is. The women there are so helpful and energetic; it’s like they couldn’t wait to hear about my ideas for my room. Well, now that I’m home I am second guessing my choices. OF COURSE I had to fall for an expensive wallpaper that has to be shipped over from Europe and costs about $100 a roll (and that’s WITH the discounts). I was almost OK with spending that much money, but I wanted to show the other bedroom inhabitant (Kyle) a sample to see what he thinks.

To his credit he did preface his statement with “You know everything that you do that I doubt in the beginning I end up liking,” And he went on to say “but I’ve never been a big wallpaper fan and I think we should just paint.” Absolutely not the news I wanted to hear. Again, if he would have said “Awesome! Let’s do it.” (He would never actually say that, it’d be more like “Cool, O.K.”…but I digress) that would justify the huge expense. OR if he would say that he didn’t like it and it only cost $30 then I’d say “Whatever, we can try it and if we don’t like it we can tear it down.”

But it’s expensive and a risk. I was suppose to call the store tomorrow and give them a definitive answer, now I think I will be telling them that I have to drag in my nay-saying boyfriend to see the wallpaper first hand. I want him to enjoy the room too, but if he knows that he always ends up liking the things that I choose, then why couldn’t he have just lied and pretended it was great? If I end up painting this room, I will be sorely disappointed.

 

 

Definition: Toile  is a type of pattern consisting of a usually light background on which a  repeated pattern depicting a fairly complex scene, generally of a pastoral theme such as (for example) a couple having a picnic by a lake.

 

 

Toiles also often consist of an arrangement of flowers. The pattern portion consists of a single color, most often black, dark red, or blue.

 

Here some examples of toile wallpaper and a couple rooms that use it. None of these are my exact pattern or color (mine is lavender), but the patterns are all very similar, especially from far away.

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see it’s very easy to go overboard with toile, my plan was to do one wall. Scratch that, my plan IS to do one wall.

 

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

