RSS Feed

Dressed-down Windows

Nothing improves the look of a room like light. Allowing light to enter can turn the darkest den into a welcoming study, or a moody 17-year-old’s room into…well, a BRIGHTER, moody 17-year-old’s room. Either way, the point is that light transforms space, but it’s hard for us to think outside the box when it comes to window treatments. Drapes, valances, shades– all of our go-to window decor blocks that precious element; however, there is a way around it. (Of course there’s a way around it, did you think I would drone on about a problem and not have a viable solution? Well I would, but not this time.).

 

Hooray for Window Film! I know what you’re thinking, but this isn’t your

How freakin' fun is that?

grandma’s window film– this is modern, easy to adhere and (if you so desire) colorful. It allows valuable light to come in without leaving your window naked and sad.

 

Because this is such a simple look AND it’s so easy to pull off, it’s really easy to get carried-away… but please don’t. Fun and novel ideas only work when they aren’t overused. If you see a cool window film on the front door and then another neat one on the kitchen window, that’s acceptable because there is enough space to balance it out. But when you have it on the front door, the kitchen windows, in both bathrooms and throughout the living room, it’s pretty clear that you had one (and only one) awesome idea that you repeated ad nauseam.

If you are going to repeat this trend in your house, feel free to mix it up a bit! I plan to use a film on a tiny window by my front door because the window is

Fancy Schmancy.

so little that any other treatment would swallow it whole. I can’t say I plan to use something as garish as this one on the right, but I guarantee that when executed correctly this film could look killer!

 

 

I also plan to put one in my upstairs bathroom. The bathroom has only one window and I am sure not covering it up with fabric. Plus, there’s something about a permanent fabric in the bathroom that always grossed me out. Maybe because we wash our towels and bathmats regularly, but rarely do we launder our curtains (Am I right? Or am I the only gross one here?).

Pretty and Private.

 

In the bathroom I plan to use something a little toned-down such as this one to the left. If my bathroom was going to be white then maybe I’d rethink that decision, but I’m planning on some bright orange action on the walls, so I better play it safe with everything else.

 

Whether you use this or not, it’s always an easy, cheap and temporary option for keeping light in and voyeurs out.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

