RSS Feed

Bins and Found Storage

I love being organized, but sometimes it’s much easier to throw everything in a bin. Honestly, I am a very patient person, but even I will lose it when I attempt to make rhyme or reason out of a pile of stuffed animals. So for the stuff you really don’t care about, there is no shame in tossing it in a bin and forgetting about it.

My secret caffeine addiction. Now the world knows what I am hiding.

My little bins are colorful and fun. If I am going to be lazy about storage then I may as well semi-enjoy the way it looks. This is an amazing storage area that I have, but I know most kitchens don’t come with such deep cupboards. The good news is that bins come in all shapes and sizes. You may have to make a trip to Target or (God forbid) Wal-Mart, but they have thin, short, wide containers that can fit any space. I hate to ever advocate spending money, but if spending money saves sanity then by all means shell-out that $12 for 40 gallon storage bin.

My cabinets just so happen to fit oval bins that I originally bought as coolers for my daughter’s birthday party this summer, so I didn’t have to spend any extra money. I used what I had and you can do the same! Whether it’s washing out an empty butter container to hold hair ties or wrapping some decorative paper around a baby formula canister to house pencils (seriously, ask my coworkers and they will confirm that I have one on my desk) low-cost storage is all around, it’s just a matter of taking items out of context and thinking of them as multi-purpose tools.

And don’t even get me started on all of the things that you can do with a flatware divider! You could use it to keep jewelry organized in a bathroom drawer or hang it on the wall by the door to hold keys, cell phones and other easy to lose items. The possibilities for all of these random plastic do-dads are limitless.

 

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

