RSS Feed

My House’s Hat

I had a professional contractor come to my house to take a look at my roof, if you recall my previous entry, things aren’t looking so good upstairs…way, way upstairs.

The verdict is-my roof is leaking. It seems simple enough, but a leak without water is hard to detect as a leak. On top of that, there are other issues that I knew about before I bought the place, but I just didn’t realize how drastically they affected other parts of the house.

The good news is that the leak isn’t coming from a flawed area, just more of a bad angle because I have 2 layers of shingles and an improper drip edge. What this means is my shingles are hindering the smooth flow of water down the roof and over the drip edge. Instead it is going down the roof but settling behind the gutters and seeping into the house.

Shingle Repair and Drip Edge: $835.00

The ventilation is another issue of which I was acutely aware when I bought the house. THIS is the problem that seemed confined to one area, but as it turns out, affects more than I ever anticipated. You see, I don’t have proper ventilation in my attic, which means that the hot air rises up and just sits there. This causes my attic temperature to be warmer than the temperature outside (it is suppose to be the same.) Because of the huge temperature difference between the attic and the outside air, moisture can form inside the attic and cause mold. This ventilation/mold issue is something I was aware of, but was told that the mold was minor and doesn’t need IMMEDIATE attention but should be dealt with and a ventilation system should be installed eventually. I was OK to drag my feet a bit when I thought mold (which had been growing at a glacial pace) was the only negative outcome, but it wasn’t. In the winter, because the attic is so warm it melts the snow on the roof causing water to drip down and form ice around the incorrectly placed drip edge that I previously mentioned. So I can expect water from the ice hanging on the drip edge to seep behind the gutters and make it’s way into the wall. Yikes is an understatement. So they plan to take

Soffit Vent

out the soffit vents (which are like intermittent vents along the eaves) and replace them with an all vented soffit which is a vent that runs the circumference of the house instead of intermittently.

All vented soffit.

Installing a ventilation system: $1,145.00 ouch.

There are also minor changes that should be made. I have a lot of trees around the house so my gutters can fill up in 3 days. The contractor recommends installing gutter guards to keep any objects (leaves or ice) that may hinder the water from easily making it’s way into the gutter and not behind it. Also, the chimney needs some cracks filled and the windows need calking.

Chimney work: $185.00

Gutter Guards and Installation: $640.00 (Opting out)

Calking: $120 (Opting out)

Grand Total: $2,165.00 (not including services for which I’ll opt out.)

So there you have it, my bank account as I know it will never be the same. I have pared down the “proposal” to the fixes that must be done by a professional, but as you can see, even when I “opt out” of $825.00 worth of services there is still a hefty price tag for these repairs. I’m not bitter, I’m just….actually yeah, bitter would totally be the word I’m looking for.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

One response »

  1. Better stock up on Raid for Bess and Wasps and such, they love to get up and nest all in that vented soffit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

