RSS Feed

Organization Nip/Tuck

Sometimes you look around the house and it seems like you have a million and a half things to do. It’s not like they’re huge projects, but in the whirlwind of cleaning the kitchen and doing laundry, the “clutter busting” tends to get skipped. However, your less likely to skip the little tasks that get under your skin if you do them before all of the big stuff gets in the way. Here’s a list of those small things that you can do in less time than you think.

File Keepsakes
Organize mementos and knickknacks within keepsake boxes. Pull out those empty chocolate or tea tins and fill them with letters, sea shells, ticket stubs and photos.

Clean the Home Office
With the computer off, turn keyboard upside down and shake out any crumbs (Ew, I know). Dust the computer monitor with electronic wipes, eye glass cleaning cloth or even a used dryer sheet. Dust keys with Endust or a small, clean paint/makeup brush.

Use Under-Bed Storage
Neatly fold blankets and store them in their original plastic or a plastic tote under your bed. That way, you’ll create square footage of storage and also have easy access for guests or especially cold nights.

Contain Shoes
Separate his and her shoes (if necessary) and then group by style: high heels together, tennis shoes, sandals etc. Some people will suggest to put your “special occasion” shoes in the back of the closet because you rarely wear them. Maybe this is a good idea for guys, but for girls who have several pairs; KEEP THEM ALL IN VIEW! You will completely forget what you own if you hide them or keep them out of reach, which will automatically force you to exhaust the same few while there are others in perfect shape just dying to be worn.

 

Style the Countertop 
Instantly give your countertop style an upgrade with a cake stand to contain salt, pepper, olive oil and frequently used seasonings.

Rearrange the Cabinet 
In the kitchen, tackle one cabinet at a time and sort its contents. Group glasses by style and place upside down. Layer a nonskid liner first if you’re really feeling ambitious! If you have too many glasses to count, just make sure you place the rarely used glasses in the cabinets that are hardest to reach. (You see, the “rarely used shoe rule” doesn’t apply here.)

Organize Under the Sink
Stick adhesive hooks (found at any hardware store) to hang a pair of rubber dish gloves in the cabinet under a sink. Some people like to wear rubber gloves to protect their nails (which is a valid point), but I just don’t like to touch soggy, old food. (Honestly, I’d rather clean a toilet.)

A Space for Everything

The best way to organize and STAY organized it so make sure there is a place for everything. How freeing is it to know that the flashlight is next to the batteries and matches in the utility closet? As opposed to “Where the hell did I put that flashlight? I had it when the power went out last week, but now who knows?” Once you create a place for everything (and ensure that items always return there) then you won’t have to do an “organization overhaul” of your home more than once.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you so much. this came right on time. Today is my home cleaning day. But I do not feel like doing the whole thing from top to bottom.

    Reply
  2. Some days, it’s all about the baby steps.

    Reply
  3. Pictures on the kitchen walls seems a little impractical but it looks so cute! I like a lot of these.

    Reply
    • Not all kitchens can accommodate pictures in general. But if all of your cabinet space is below (and you don’t want walls of open shelving because nothing collects dust like glassware) then they are a good option.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

