RSS Feed

Fabric Shades from Ugly Blinds

I love the privacy of blinds, but I absolutely hate how synthetic and manufactured they look. As I mentioned before, I enjoy a good cottage, which is the antithesis of mass production. However, I am not a fan of the price tag that usually accompanies unique items. But with a little effort (and patience) I was able to disguise my plastic blinds as a classy shade. Let’s take a peek-see.

Supplies: Fabric glue. Scissors. Fabric. Tape measure. Blinds.

Step 1: Measure your window dimensions.

Step 2: Let your blinds out all of the way, so the cord on the side is all the way up to the top. Then cut away all of the little ladder strings, but make sure to STAY AWAY FROM THE MAIN, THICK CORD. When you’re done you should only have the 2 thick cords left.

Step 3: Pop the plugs out of the thick bottom part of the blinds. You are then able to slide the bottom part off, as well as slide off theunnecessary slats. I ended up keeping only 7 of the slats.

Step 4: Reinstall the big bottom slat and tie it off. Cut away the extra cord and replace the plugs. Recalling the window measurements, decide how long you would like your blinds. I added an additional couple inches because I didn’t know what kind of mistakes I would end up making…true story.

Step 5: Use the outline of your blinds as a guide for cutting the width and length of your fabric.

Step 6: Fold the top of your fabric over and glue it to top thick park of the blinds avoiding the ends as you need them free to put them on the brackets.

Step 7: Space your slats evenly down the fabric. I spaced mine 3″ apart because I wanted smaller folds. The bulkier you want your shade, then farther apart the slats need to be.

Step 8: Glue your slats with the convex side down so there is more surface area for the glue to stick. Make sure not to glue the main cord to the fabric as it must slide smoothly.

Step 9: Fold the other sides of the fabric over the slats and glue them down. Fold the fabric at the bottom under and behind the big bottom slat and glue down.

Step 10: Hang shades up as you typically would (once dry). If necessary you can glue down the sides to the brackets. Then stand back and feel super proud of yourself!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

5 responses »

  1. Jennifer Weingate

    Very creative, turned out awesome 🙂

    Reply
  2. I LOVE this DIY project !! My son works nights so we always have to hang a blanket over the windows even with wood blinds to make the room dark . I have been wanting to make material covers for the windows but I am not the best with a sewing machine. This is so much more simpler and a lot faster !! Thanks for sharing !!

    Reply
  3. WOW! Who would have guessed to do this? How ingenius, and now when I am out and about with thrifting I am going to look for those extras that you see being offered. They might not working fully, but doing this project definitely has advantages too. Thank You!:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

