RSS Feed

The Midas Touch

It all started with an empty picture frame. Behold—->

I had a conversation with my garage, and he (yes, my garage is male) said he was going to pop a spring at just the right moment and sever my head with his door if I didn’t remove the gold picture frame that had been stationed inside of him for the past two months. Now he is a pretty big talker (and a little bit of a drinker, between you and me) so I didn’t know if I should believe him or not. Regardless, I decided to play it safe, remove the picture frame, buy my garage a 30 pack of Bud Ice and keep my head intact.

I have seen decorators in the past staple chicken wire to the back of frames to clip up pictures and notes. And when I say “decorators,” I obviously don’t mean one, or a few for that matter. I have seen dozens of examples of the same thing by SEVERAL decorators. So I decided to switch it up a bit because even though it may be a little tired, that doesn’t negate the fact that it’s still a good idea. But instead of chicken wire, I created my own pattern.

First I spread out a blanket on the floor. I like to do all of my projects that deal with sharp tacks or staples on a bright blanket, which makes the little, shiny pieces easy to spot, so I don’t “spot” it with my foot in five days.

Next I pulled out all of the old staples (which were jagged and crooked) with pliers, then I placed dots equal distance apart on the frame.

This may seem counterproductive, but I then put staples back in the frame, making sure to line up the center of the staple with the dots.

The thing that I feel makes my DIY projects work so well (or so terribly) is that I am not a details fanatic. If a measurement is a bit off (and it doesn’t affect the outcome) or a nail is a little crooked, I am most likely not going to fix it. Reason being; I do not want to torture myself with the insignificant technicalities. I would never finish a project because I’d be so frustrated with my minor errs, so I just close my eyes and continue (figuratively speaking… and sometimes literally.)

Once all of my staples were in I started to weave thick wire (usually used for beaded jewelry) in and out of the staples.

I experimented with a few patterns and finally decided to quarter the frame with one empty section at the top, two sections with just diagonal wires on each side and one section of diamonds at the bottom. And this is what happened…..

The setting in which this piece resides is, well, less than formal. I didn’t feel the need to straighten out wires or ensure that I went over then under instead of under then over on my wire weaving. If I were making this for a friend, it would be a flawless masterpiece (I’m sort of serious) but it’s just my house and I know what level of shoddiness I can accept before it’s too much to bear. My point is that if you pay close attention to detail, this could look amazing, but again I’m sure yours won’t be accented by a Step 2 Play Kitchen.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

