RSS Feed

Slow Romance Drill

Believe it or not, it took me a few months (and even more expletives) to finally fall in love with my drill. I know, I know, it’s hard to believe.

I use to dread using my drill because, well quite frankly, I sucked and didn’t know what I was doing. I would just choose random bits without matching them with the screws and I would choose the screws without considering the surface I intended to drill through.

Until one day the chuck wouldn’t release the bit (which I had haphazardly selected) and I had nowhere to turn, except the owner’s manual. Once I started reading the detail that the authors pumped into the the 4 page (English AND Spanish) brochure, I started to realize that if this crummy owner’s manual is telling me SO MUCH, then maybe there really is SO MUCH MORE to learn.

I’m by no means a professional, but at this point I have learned enough to stop working against myself. If I can’t have pounds of forearm muscle or an endless supply of bits and screws at my disposal for experimenting, I can at least research how to match up bits, screws and material to give myself the best shot at making my house look like more than a hole in the wall…(::Eye roll:: I apologize for my puns. They have minds of their own.)

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

One response »

  1. Love your updates Kristen,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

