RSS Feed

A Simple Cover-Up

This is the first time I have ever recovered a lamp shade. I’m sorry that I didn’t take more pictures, but I honestly thought it would look terrible and I didn’t want much evidence of my failure. Wouldn’t you know it, it actually worked out for me. But I had a few things in my favor…

1. I had a nearly perfect, cylindrical shade to wrap fabric around, which saved me a lot of bumps and folds.

After I cut out a (too large) rectangle of fabric, I put glue on the circumference of the top and bottom edges, as well as four vertical lines down the sides.

2. I used very forgiving fabric, so if there were wrinkles, they were very well camouflaged.

After I ironed the material, I laid it out and rolled the shade over the fabric tightly like an unappetizing taco. Then I glued down the last edge of the cloth to ensure I wouldn't be left with a weird flap.

3. I used sharp shears which enabled super accurate snips.

I cut down the excess fabric to an inch of material at the top and bottom. Then I glued around and under the rims and folded the fabric over.

4. Again I used forgiving fabric, so I didn’t need to cover the seam on the side. If it was necessary I could have cut out a half inch strip of fabric, folded and glued it in half, and then glued it (with it’s seam down) on the edges or along the seam. But again, it wasn’t necessary (this time).

Then I stood back, amazed at the (near) effortlessness of the transformation.

Here's my shade in it's natural habitat. I have new plans for this lamp's previous shade, and this shade's new look made it a perfect replacement.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

