RSS Feed

Lighten Up

I seem to be on some sort of a shade/lighting kick. Yesterday I was all about covering a lamp shade (see here) and today I’m updating my entry way lighting. I know everyone loves Dynasty with all the big shoulder pads and golden baubles, but I feel like 70% of my pendants (which of course, all coordinate) would fit right in with the bright lipstick and sequins. I’m a little on the hippie side (there, I said it) so I like a good brushed nickel and organic fabric. Once again though, I work with what I’m given so the whole fixture isn’t going to change, just the ugliest parts of it.

How would you feel if this was the first thing you saw when you walked in?

I removed the glass that was hanging from it, so it was a little on the naked side. Honestly though, it looked better already.

Then I took a hacksaw to a regular lamp shade. I made gashes in the metal spokes and then beat it with a hammer. I know that sounds a little “mob boss” of me, but that’s what you get when you double cross me…wait, what were we talking about again? Oh, the lamp shade.

Once all of the metal in the middle was busted out of place, I took a needle and threaded it with a five-inch piece of fishing line. I didn’t knot the end so I would be able to pull the needle off easily. I then pushed the needle through the very top rim of fabric, then removed the needle, leaving the line in the fabric.

I threaded a total of six pieces of line through the shade. I pretty much just eyeballed the distance of the spokes on my fixture and tried to match it up to where I sewed the line on the shade– I totally wouldn’t recommend doing this. It worked out for me, but it very well could have been a nightmare, so I suggest doing a little measuring when placing the line.

After all of the lines were in the fabric, I tied the line to create little loops that were approximately equal sizes to hang on my spokes. (It’s super hard to get fishing line loops to show in a photo. They’re like floss ghosts.)

I said a quick prayer (because if you recall, I did 100% less measuring than I should have), stepped up on a chair and hung the bad boy. I’m usually pretty good at this stuff, so you’d think I’d stopped being amazed when things work out, but it is like opening a birthday present every single time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The only thing that put a damper on my jovial victory was Kyle’s compliment to me on my shade choice because it coordinated so well with the outdated, floral, farmhouse wallpaper that still sits mockingly on my entry way walls. One project always seems to lead to another, doesn’t it?

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

