RSS Feed

S is for Safety.

I don’t write about safety enough and, quite honestly, it’s because I rarely think about it. I know, I know, I’m a horrible example of what to do when it comes to keeping your home protected against fire and carbon monoxide. At least, I WAS a horrible example until today.

Aged smoke detector.

This was my smoke detector. It still worked, but it was a little on the gnarly side and I decided that if I was going to start caring about grown-up things like “home owners insurance” and “property value,” then a new smoke alarm really couldn’t hurt.

I bought one that was a little on the cheap side. As you may be aware, I am 100% comfortable with cheap things, but I admit I did hesitate for 4.3 seconds as I thought about the repercussions of buying a low end smoke detector. Worse case scenario? It won’t work when I need it, which could be a very big problem. But then the logic kicked in. Things like smoke detectors MUST abide by federal regulations (like baby formula) so no matter how cheap it is, there is a standard that it has to adhere to or else it can’t be sold. So I bought the cheap ones and skipped my way out of the store.

 

 

 

Plus with the money I saved on buying the lower priced smoke alarms, I was able to spring for a superman style battery (OK it was like $4; not exactly going to break me).

 

 

 

My first order of business was to remove Grandpa Smoke Detector. The alarm part twisted off easily and then I just had to unscrew the brace from the rafters. Easy peasy, it was down in a snap.

 

 

 

Then I put the new brace up… upside down.

Frustrated Glamour Shot.

 

 

 

 

Once I flipped the brace back over, and screwed it to the rafter correctly, all I had to do was put in the battery and slide the alarm into place. Aside from my own stupidity, it was really a super easy process.

Next I moved on to the carbon monoxide detector. I just found another empty rafter, took the brace and used it as a template to drill holes for the screws.

 

 

 

 

Once the holes were drilled, I tightened a couple screws inside of them. I put batteries in the detector and slid the brace into place on the detector and hung the completely assembled unit onto the rafter.

It honestly couldn’t have been easier and I sort of feel like a champ. Now I have a little family of safety screamers just in case something catastrophic happens..like me trying to cook.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

