RSS Feed

DIY Lifestyle

When you pick this lifestyle, you also pick all the chaos that comes with it. I know most people don’t think of DIY as a lifestyle, but that’s because most people see DIY as a means to an end. The difference is that I don’t just say to broken items “how can I fix this?” I say that to fully functional items, too.

As I was saying about the chaos…there’s a lot of it. Sometimes I feel obscenely scattered. I will start something, get halfway through and need to wait for it to dry; which is coincidentally just enough time for me to start another project. Before I know it, I have a ladder in my living room, drill bits all over my kitchen table and my daughter is wrapping herself up in batting from an unfinished reupholstering project.

However there does come a point in time when you finally have to check yourself before you wreck yourself (or your house, your relationship, your financial stability, etc.) I live by The Rule of Four. Four seasons, four leaves on a lucky clover, four Beatles; all good things right? Not too many, but enough. So, once I have four half-finished projects littering my house, I STOP what I am doing, drop every notion of starting something new and get all four done! Assuming there is no reason for the delay, such as inclement weather (no one wants you moving a couch in the snow) or you’re waiting for your next paycheck to buy supplies (yes, that’s a reality that we all have to contend with) then there is no good reason that all four projects can’t get done now.

As of 8:00 a.m. on 1/24/12, these were my half-finished burdens.

No Sew Curtains.

Uninstalled Light Fixtures.

Half-painted, sorta thought-out Fern Stand.

Neglected Wicker Blinds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The really obnoxious thing about some of these is that they are really small projects. None should take more than 2.5 hours to finish. Which is why (to stay true to my commitment to myself and to avoid allowing my family to live in hoarder-level chaos) I am well on my way to having zero unfinished projects.

As of 10:30 p.m. on 1/24/12, this was my progress.

No Sew Curtains Finished! Details (and way better pictures) to follow.

And the light fixture is finally installed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As I mentioned, these projects weren’t exactly hard or terribly time consuming, so I don’t quite feel like a champion. BUT I do feel a little less useless than I did at 8:00 a.m., and that’s something to blog about!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

