RSS Feed

Fortune Valentines

When it comes to Valentine’s Day it can be hard to come up with gifts that aren’t completely juvenile, but still bear some nostalgic weight. You don’t want to seem trite; you don’t want to knock off a jewelry commercial; you don’t want to spend the entire contents of your bank account. Nothing says “I love you like I did when we were young” more than a homemade gift with a grown-up twist.

Necessary Supplies

Paper of any kind. String or clothesline. Pen/pencil. Scissors.

Optional supplies

Stickers. Glitter. Markers. Anything you’d like to decorate your hearts.

Step 1: Take a square piece of paper. I chose to use tissue paper, but that is just what I had handy. Scrapbook paper, computer paper or even paper towels would all work just fine. Then, (if you so desire) you can drawn a design or make kiss marks all over it with your sexy, red hot lipstick. Personally I had my daughter scribble on a couple of the pages, just so she could be represented in the gift.

Step 2: Follow the how-to video to create paper hearts. (I would set aside a decent amount of time to do this. It’s no coincidence that I posted this project 10 days before V-day.) But once you get the hang of it, it’s easy peasey. Then decorate the hearts with the bonus materials of your choosing like glitter or stickers. My style permitted paper and Olivia’s doodlings to suffice for me, but if you need to glam it up then by all means do it!

Just a couple examples of my "fortunes."

Step 3: Once all of your hearts are completed, it’s time to make the fortunes! I just cut out pieces of printer paper in roughly the same size as fortune cookie fortunes. I wrote on mine (but you could just as easily type these out in M.S. Word, print and cut) all of the reasons I love my guy. Obviously, that’s not the only option. You could write your hopes for your future, all the dirty things you want to do together (oh yeah, I went there), your favorite memories together, whatever you’d like. If you have kids, you could assign each of them a heart to decorate and write something regarding their Dad/Step Mom/Grandpa–whoever the banner is intended.

Step 4: Slide your heart onto the string by running it under the main flap.

Step 5: Tuck your fortunes into the back pocket of the hearts.

Step 6: String those puppies up and watch your loved one feel, well…loved!

And just to clarify…

This what the back should look like.

This is what the front looks like.

Your sweetheart will love the banner, and will love to read all of your wonderful fortunes even more!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

