RSS Feed

Pattern of Design

Right now I am running in high gear to get pieces ready for the vendor sale on March 24th. The problem with this is that my best design ideas involve patterns, which take 90 years to translate to furniture. If you recall Rob’s bookcase, there was only a hint of pattern on the sides and that took 4 collective days to pull off. Regardless, I’m sticking to my guns! I intended to create furniture that I would want in my house and I won’t accept anything less.

Just to get the synapses fired up in my sleepy noggin, I’ve narrowed down a few pattern styles that have their pros and (of course) cons that I just have to explore in writing. And what better way to brainstorm and be completely free than to publish my meanderings for all to see? Well, NOT publishing them would make me seem less like an ambivalent babbler, but that’s no fun for anyone.

Hollywood Regency

I’m a little in love with Hollywood Regency inspired patterns. They’re made of simple geometric shapes and usually use only 2 colors. The pattern shows up in rugs and fabric, but it’s mainly built into the structure of furniture (because it uses such simple shapes) and not typically painted on. BUT I am a rule breaker, and I’ve already started painting this style on a tea cart. What?!? A 30’s style design on an item from the 60’s?! It’s pure mayhem!

Mod

Even though these patterns typically use shapes, it varies greatly from Hollywood Regency. Mod patterns typically are more complex shapes with several contrasting colors. Not only are these patterns too complex to build into furniture, but one of their most obvious characteristics is their color, which can’t exactly be built into furniture either. Typically Mod patterns are found on fabrics, wallpaper or any item that can be screen printed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Damask

I love love love Damask. It consists of huge complex shapes (usually floralesque ::made that word up::) with only 2 (but occasionally 3) colors. It’s super bold and too intricate to freehand onto an item. If I were to put this pattern on a piece, my best bet would be to buy fabric with this pattern and adhere it to the item. It is of course possible to use a stencil, which is what would be necessary if I was super insistent on painting it directly on the item…and I can get pretty insistent.

Stencil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Art Nouveau

This usually consists of intertwined flowers and weaving vines (also called arabesque). It usually has a few colors that are fairly muted. I love this style because it’s like “classic hippie.” It’s not overtly “nature lover,” but it gives a nod in that direction. Many times you will see Nouveau style as a frame around a picture of a woman. In any case, this is a stylized version of natural elements like flowers, leaves, vines and even animals. Also, a great feature to this design is that is has no obvious pattern repeat, so if you were to try to freehand this (God help me) then any little error would go basically unnoticed because it isn’t suppose to be perfectly symmetrical.

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not sure at this point if I have helped or hurt myself. So many ideas (that take ages to complete) and so little time.

Wish me luck!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

