RSS Feed

Who’s Got the Button?

The answer to the question that my title poses is– EVERYONE!

Who doesn’t have at least a couple buttons laying around? You know, the ones that come in the little baggy with your new shirts that you think you may need and never use? But your paranoia keeps you from tossing them out. Then all of the sudden you realize that you have buttons for clothing that you’ve already donated to Goodwill, but still it’s probably a pretty cool button so you hang onto it to use in a craft (or whatever).

Regardless of how you got the buttons, I have some solutions that will finally give their life purpose (dramatic much?).

Option 1

Decorate! In all likelihood, you probably have very few buttons that actually match each other. So you may as well go crazy and sew them (or glue them, it’ll be our secret that you didn’t sew 40 buttons to a curtain) in no particular order like it’s a button frat party. Look at that big, orange button, stumbling way out there. And that little, lonely, yellow button toward the top, she’s probably looking for her friend’s cell phone. These buttons are so wasted…

Option 2

Sew them to dish cloths. We aren’t trying to make them prettier, we’re trying to make them more effective. Even if you have a dishwasher, sometimes there are stubborn pieces left behind (can I get an Amen from the Oatmeal section?). Rewashing is a pain, but if you just run it under water and do a 2 second scrub with a dishrag and it’s picky button friend, the problem is solved.

Option 3

Add them to pillows!

Picture taken from Pieces of You, Ethical Homeware.

There are several patterns/reasons to sew these to cushions. If you have some matching, you can sew them down tightly to add a little tuft effect. Or you can just make up your own fun little design, there are no rules! We’re freakin’ lawless!

Option 4

Put them in a vase like an art school kid. Typically I kind of rag on ideas that are kitschy just for the sake of being kitschy. But when this is executed with a bit of color discretion it can be really adorable without leaving guests cocking their heads and smiling through their teeth. Not that everyone that comes to your house is judging you, but why give your mother-in-law one more thing to raise her eyebrows about?

Option 5

I stole this idea from the Amalfi Coast.

Get crafty with pillowcases. Sew a button to the inside of the open flap on a pillowcase and create a button hole on the opposite flap. And viola! No more re-stuffing your pillow into the case in the middle of the awesome beach dream with the sexy guy from that one commercial…or ya know, whatever other good dream you may be having.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

