RSS Feed

Revisiting the Pantry

If you recall, the week after I moved into the new house I turned

 this          into             this.

Well somewhere along the lines it turn from that cute little space with a dainty amount of groceries, into

this disorganized monster. Also, some of the shelf liner was starting to peel up and I was not about to let that go on any longer.   I ripped down the top 3 shelves (the only ones peeling), pulled off the liner and painted them grey. Yeah, I showed them who’s boss! Then I grabbed a good ol’ fashion piece of scrapbook paper, the ugliest pair of scissors I own and cut little rectangles for labels.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I decided that the best way to label the shelves was by meals just because I rarely mingle meals (pancakes are always at breakfast and spaghetti is always at dinner…creative, right?) but it may not be that simple for you. Maybe it’s better for you to do it by boxes, cans, jars. Or oldest to newest if you’re always throwing out moldy bread or potatoes that have somehow grown arms. Either way, decide what works for you and make it happen.

I polyurethaned my shelves and adhered my labels with gloss Mod-Podge (did you really expect me to use some other type of glue? I’m pretty loyal to my adhesives.) And this is what happened…

 

 

In case you were curious, this was one of my biggest motivators…

 

We kept buying the same dang things because we weren’t able to see that we already had them. That’s pure insanity! Seriously, who needs 2 canisters of bread crumbs? And God knows all my neighbors can come borrow baking soda whenever they’d like, in fact… this is an open invitation, no need to RSVP for baking soda rations.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Pantry Essentials to be Prepared for Almost Any Meal: Tips & Tricks

Leave a Reply

