RSS Feed

Tea Cart Mission: Accomplished

At this point, I don’t know how many miss-steps my 1930’s (I was under the impression that it was from the 60’s, but not it’s much older) tea cart makeover took. First I disassembled and spray painted it green, but then I accidentally chipped off all the paint with a drafting pencil that was too pointy and peeled off the paint with my tape that was too sticky (which I was only using to make straight lines, not to ruin my life). So I repainted it blue and hand stenciled and painted my simple art deco design. I filled in most of the stencils and then I reassembled it, realized I’d done that incorrectly and disassembled again, stared at it for a good 25 minutes, the assembled correctly. …Then I had to put the handle back on, which is spring loaded (yeah, high tech cart of the 30’s) and it took a minute for me to figure it out. You know, let me just tell you the tale in pictures, I think we’re all too exhausted (or is that just me?) to do anything but flip through channels…yeah that’s real talk.

This is how it started.

Not so fantastic, right?

I disassembled and dug out the old caster rod holders...those took me about 90 minutes, uuugh.

I spray painted and used tape to start making my stencil lines. Obviously, it wasn't going super well.

As I pulled off the tape to arrange it, the paint started to chip and life wasn't so happy.

So them I repainted it blue.

I took off the sides and finished them, but the cart was coming slowly.

I stenciled on a design I had made and cut out of card stock (actually it was a 2011 calendar cover, just so you don't think I wasted money on thick paper). I hand painted inside the lines...that's right, the stencil was just for tracing, the painting was all hand done. I then put on the new casters.

Finally I just had to fill in the rest of the designs, finish with gloss rub on polyurethane and attach the previously finished sides and hardware.

And as you can see, the sides are level when they are open and look waaaaay better than when I started.

I'm so glad it's done.

So done.

It wasn’t all sunshine and lollipops, I did have difficulty with the moving parts and the spring on the retracting handle. Check out My First Take and My Second Take.

One piece down, only three more to go before the sale!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

One response »

  1. big fan of this SO cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

