RSS Feed

Let Me Stand Next to Your Fire

Just a real quick pick-me-up for drab fireplace gear! At very least you should have a poker and a grabber (no, those are definitely not technical terms), but they don’t always look so fun or chic. In fact, most of the time they look like this…

Not quit the utensils you imagine in those Nora Roberts novels where a sophisticated, yet ruggedly manly college professor entertains a beautiful, wayward traveler while he tends to his fire at his summer cabin where he hopes to commune with nature and write a few chapters in his book filled with deep thoughts and soulful feelings. Boy, I really get sidetracked don’t I?

In order to make my metal gear a bit more “Ooh La La,” I decided to unscrew the handles and toss a little primer and spray paint in their direction. I know that not all utensils are made with removable handles (though many are) you can still tape off the stems to isolate the area you’d like to paint.

Once the paint has dried you can spray a little clear sealer on just for the sake of it. I don’t foresee myself using these too rigorously in the near future, but I sprayed mine juuuuuuust in case I decide to start getting cozy near a fire on a bear skin rug.

I hate to wrap this up so abruptly, but this is truly a quick, simple project that livens up your tools without stealing your focus by it’s garishness.

Just bright enough to work.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Princess of Wealth « kasvidint

Leave a Reply

