RSS Feed

Blushing Chair

If you’ve paid any attention to the ticker to the right, you may have noticed that I have a whopping 2 days until the vendor sale. Which is convenient because I have a whopping pieces finished, and no, that isn’t an understatement. I signed up for the sale with the intention that I will be selling services more than actual items, but I didn’t plan to go THIS empty handed. You see, I planned to finish one chair and one other bigger piece today, so I would at least have four pieces to bring to exemplify my work. Well, the bees had other plans for me.

There was a freakin’ barrage of bees milling about my garage like they pay the mortgage. I didn’t sign-up to defeat the bee militia and I sure wasn’t going to allow Olivia to roam through what has now become their promised land, so I settled to run in and out of the house spray painting and waiting all day. No, seriously. I wish I was kidding.

Either way, this is what THE ONLY ITEM that I got finished looked like when I started this adventure.

Originally it started black with white microfiber seats, but you KNOW I couldn’t ever settle for a simple black and white. So I painted the black pine green (honestly, I only chose it because my mom had some leftover and I didn’t want to buy more). This was before I learned that investing a BIT of money in your furniture will save you from a) hating it and b) refinishing it every few months, which gets tiresome. Then I reupholstered it in stripes that went with the decor that the landlords found necessary to paint my rented kitchen. I knew it was temporary so it was really a half-hearted attempt to doll it up. I didn’t even remove the original fabric, see?

So obviously the white did make a brief cameo in my old kitchen, but it doesn’t take long for white to get painted and spilled upon. Whether it was from mistreatment or the sheer boredom, I found it necessary to cover the white with stripes, and now the stripes are replaced with a really neat dark blue and white pattern. Plus I added vinyl (4 gages thinner than I used in Danielle’s Chairs, and I had it right the first time with hers. My gage 4 is too thin because it’s so easy to stretch out of shape like a plastic shopping bag.) Even with thin vinyl, it is still way better than no vinyl at all!

This time is quite different than the last time I made my chair a bit more “me;” I picked my own paint color (I like to call it “Blush.”) and even tore the old fabric off of the seat! This is how you know college is over: Not everything you own/use is someone else’s hand-me-downs and you actually care about how your harebrained schemes turn out.

And this is how mine turned out!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

