RSS Feed

The Carpet Progression

As I previously mentioned in a post, I glued a table to my carpet. It sounds so much worse than it really was, but I don’t know enough words to try to convince you that it really was a very reasonable accident so I am just going to forgo the excuses and get to the point. WE GOT NEW CARPET! Here’s how it went…

Before the carpet installation.

The original carpet, taken before we moved in.

Oh, and this was my minor error. See? It wasn't a huge catastrophe...right?

Once they started pulling up the carpet they found beautiful floors, but I couldn't just tell them to leave, that'd be rude.

I sort of loved it. But I can always pull the carpet up once I've outgrown it.

Once I saw the wood I decided to at least keep the stairs uncovered, even though that left quite a bit of work to be done. Tack strips, staples, nails-- all had to get torn out using a slotted screwdriver, crow bar and needle nose pliers. Then I used murphy's Oil Soap and restorer on the wood.

This is how the steps looked after I did all of their primping.

This is how the room looks with lighter carpet. I'll have to update my home photos soon.

I don't know what goes on with pictures in this room, they always glare and bounce light like crazy. But try to look past all of that and look at my beautiful, dimpled carpet.

Now that there is new carpet, I guess that means no more doing stuff like this...

Or this...

Because Kyle is never going to let me forget this.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

2 responses »

  1. Nice! That is, indeed, the same flooring my parents have in their house. I had no idea it was the same over there….I’ve always known those stairs with carpet. But now that they’re all naked, they’re looking all sexy-like. Good job, you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

