RSS Feed

One Hat, Three Occasions

My mother recently bought my daughter, Olivia, a floppy, white hat. It would be perfect for Easter, except for the fact that it is completely lacking in the frills category. Everyone knows that Easter hats should rival Kentucky Derby hats! Even though I am not THAT good, I am good ENOUGH to kick it up a notch.

Supplies: Plain Hat.Hot Glue Gun.Handkerchief or Cloth Napkin.Ribbon.


Step 1: Start with the flower (because if you mess up, it’s not like you’ve already made room on the hat for it.) Take the fabric and make it into a long thin tube. I had cloth napkins that the sellers left so I just folded one into a triangle and started to roll it up into a skinny straw.

Step 2: Once you have it in a long strip, take one end and start rolling the tube into a spiral-ball from one end to the other. Once you have it halfway rolled, put a line of hot glue down the rest of the fabric then continue to roll. Once it’s all rolled up, put a final bit of glue to secure the end. So, yes, essentially it’s just a spiral, but once it’s in “hat context,” it totally looks like a flower.

Step 3: Set aside your spiral flower for now and bust into the ribbon. Just cut a long piece, hot glue all along the hat where it meets the bill (is it called a bill when it’s not a baseball hat?…or a duck?) Then place your ribbon to circle the hat, leaving some ribbon to trail at the end. Personally, I cut my ribbon ends to make one of those fancy little V’s, but you can just make a diagnal cut if you’d like….we’re not picky here.

Step 4: Place a huge gob of hot glue on the back of your spiral flower and then a bit on the hat in the location you’d like your flower. I put mine a little off center in the front, but if your a fan of symmetry then smack-dab in the middle is just fine too.

What I really love about this is that hot glue isn’t a permanent adhesive. In fact, if you pulled hard enough I guarantee you could rip this flower and ribbon right off in about 45 seconds. In some instances this could be seen as a bad thing, but not to THIS GIRL! Easter is one day a year, but this hat will fit for at least another 6 months. So once April 8th has come and gone, this ribbon and flower will also have come and gone. This hat can be re-ribboned and re-styled for our trip to the South in May, and probably again for our trip to Florida in June. From Easter hat, to southern belle topper, to a floppy beach hat. Three hats in one for only $6!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

Leave a Reply

