RSS Feed

Plum Lazy

I finally got to make another minor dent in the boat loads of furniture that I have been hoarding in my garage. However, I finished it in the laziest fashion I have ever attempted; no sanding, no primer and only spray paint. I can’t quite figure out if this was my logic and experience that told me skipping steps would be OK, or if I just wanted to open up space in my garage in the easiest and fastest possible way.

Regardless, I fixed up one of the items I received from my aunt, a bedside table.

Natural

It’s in stupendous shape, but it was a little run-of-the-mill, and I just can’t have that. Besides, I already use a headboard that is all natural wood and I just didn’t think the two could coexist in harmony.

So I avoided priming…yeah, about that…you see I was feeling lazy. My logic, however, did have some extremely valid points. One is that I was using spray paint, which usually dries well and sticks to nearly all surfaces. Another point is that I chose to paint it plum. If I was going to paint over brown with baby blue then I obviously would HAVE TO prime, but I was going from dark to darker, which made skipping priming just feel so right.

I’m happy with how the color turned out. In fact, I think that spraying the plum right over the brown gave it a bit of a richer tone, an affect that painting on white wouldn’t give.

Entertaining Ideas

Once the paint dried, I briefly entertained the idea of adding some blue/grey areas on the wood detail. This was an idea that I entertained for roughly four minutes, then I decided it wasn’t going to work out in my favor. So the only detailing I embellished was the handle. I just used a dry-brush technique to add color without coating the whole area with paint– this helped to bring the carving out from the background.

Once everything was dry, again, I brought it inside, but I decided I needed a little bit more functionality and *Oomf* if this piece was going to be utilized everyday for several years (yeah, I keep stuff well past their prime.)

Handy Handle

I typically read in bed and my phone has come to be my bedside companion most nights. So to make charging these gadgets a bit easier on the eyes I drilled a hole in the back of the the table and fished my Kindle/phone charger through it. OK that was a lie, Olivia insisted on helping so SHE technically put it through. Plus, now you know that it’s so easy, even a toddler can do it.My beautiful assistant

After already going the extra mile with my charger hole, I decided what’s the harm in doing just a tad more work? I sprayed Elmer’s Spray Glue into the drawer and stuck on some extra material I had laying around. I used a box cutter to edge the fabric so it fit neatly inside.

For the record, I only lined the top drawer with fabric. I just don’t want to give the impression that I went ANOTHER extra mile when all I wanted to do was be lazy. Again though, my logic convinced me that only doing the top drawer made sense because that was the only drawer that would be holding fragile electronics. Also, my bottom drawer is storying my extra lotion and it would be a semi-tragedy (dramatic, right?) if one of them leaked on the fabric that was adhered to the drawer. So, once again my logic promoted my laziness and I got a free pass to start packing it in for the night.

Here is how my beauty finally turned out….(and yes, my floor is still splotchy from painting, but this bedroom has been a work-in-progress from the word GO.)

This piece will forever be a reminder of what can be accomplished when you’re feeling a little lazy.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

6 responses »

  1. I love that the chargers go into the drawer! Such a great idea.

    Reply
    • Thank you! When it comes to my bedroom, table space is at a premium so I just can’t waste it on charging gadgets. Plus it looks much less cluttered with all of thee odds and ends tucked away. Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  2. You did such a nice job. I love the purple. The shape and color combination is so unique.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I was concerned the purple would be too bright, but I was really happy with how it turned out. It was a piece my aunt gave me so I REALLY didn’t want to mess it up!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Project: Bedside Table « Deeply Unfashionable

  4. Pingback: Price Check « Space-Lift

Leave a Reply

