RSS Feed

Guilt Table

My latest piece was made primarily because I am a jerk. You see, I finished my bedside table and just HAPPENED to put it on my boyfriend’s side of the bed. He was so excited to have a table, but it was suppose to be mine… the only thing I could do to get it back without making Kyle feel like a second-class citizen was to tell him that I had an even BIGGER, better and More Spectacular bedside table in the works. What (in the eyes of a man, namely Kyle) would be So fantastic? Well, a Detroit Tigers table of course.

The table started something like this….

Sandy Start

Which is only semi-accurate. I forgot to take before pictures until after I started sanding. So It had legs and long, decorative hinges running along the top.

I had about 4 false starts on this puppy so I didn’t take any pictures. If I had taken them, you would see this same item in about 4 different colors, so I will skip you that nightmare and cut to the REAL chase.

I sanded, primed and spray painted dark blue. I painted the inside bright orange (in true Tigers fashion) and did a little fancy stencil work.

Just like the back of a baseball shirt, I stenciled Kyle’s last name in a semi-circle (hey, who doesn’t want to be a famous, pretend ball player?) and Kyle’s favorite number…(yes, he has a favorite number….)

Once everything dried I decided not to put the same hinges back on because they looked a little too cottage. Now I know my bedroom is trying to give a nod to cottage style, but I didn’t want to forget this table was made for a sports loving dude; not the type of guy who would appreciate quaint charm.  So, I decided to use shiny smaller hinges that were hiding in my basement.

And this is what happened…

Finished

As you can see, the Tigers orange is hidden safely inside, so everyone is happy. Kyle has a Tigers table and nothing clashes in my bedroom; everything is once again right with the world.

Orange

Plus he has a handy new place to store his socks. Yep…that was my suggestion too.

:-)

The best part? He has no idea that I only made this so I could get my table back.

I hope this isn’t the day he decides to start reading my blog.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

5 responses »

  1. Kristen how can any man possibly be anything but insanely happy with a sock drawer painted orange. Remember the do-it-yourself mantra – “if it doesn’t move paint it”.
    Have a lovely week-end. Virginia

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Project: Hall Table « Deeply Unfashionable

  3. Pingback: Price Check « Space-Lift

Leave a Reply

