RSS Feed

Leafy Lights

Apparently I’ve been focused on lighting recently; from my tension lamp to my table lamp, I’ve done some pretty simple updates. This most recent one is a bit more complicated as I took my cue from Pinterest. I HATE saying that I got ideas from Pinterest because (as much as I like the site) I feel like it’s so cheap to copy ideas outright, especially when you know 500 other people are doing the exact same thing. Regardless, I always put my Space-Lift twist on things, but Project 1 and Project 2 are what inspired me.

I started with a piece of mirrored art that I bought at Family Dollar two years ago for $10; pretty reasonable for what it is.

Before

It was alright, but definitely lacking in the *Oomf* department.

First I opened up the back and popped out the mirror, which was fit to the back like a picture frame, and did a quick and dirty silver spray job.

Silver

Next I gathered some leaves, stuck them into place with double-sided tape, and sprayed it down with a calm blue.

Blue

When I pulled up the leaves, I thought the silver was too stark of a contrast from the blue, so I laid down a couple more leaves and sprayed around them with green. Once I was satisfied with the amount of green I added, I did a quick, light coat of the blue over the whole thing so it muted the green and silver a bit.

Fabric and Lights

Once all of the paint was dry I took it inside and hot glued purple and cream fabric to the back of the wood. Then I took some Christmas lights (LED lights would work best because they won’t get hot, but I used regular ones because I know I won’t have it on for long periods) and stapled them to the back. MAKE SURE NOT TO KNICK THE WIRES WITH THE STAPLES!

Finally it was time to display my lights! I was initially going to hang it on the wall, but I got lazy. THAT’S RIGHT! I can admit it. I got super duper lazy and decided not to (technically) finish.

The lights on the back were too bulky to allow for the lights to sit flush against the wall. I anticipated this and was prepared to build out the back with some scrap pieces of wood so it would be  a box full of lights, more than a piece of wood with lights behind it. Also I knew I would have a cord hanging from it and that isn’t sexy in the least. So I scrapped the whole “wall idea” and just set it out on the entryway piece by my door.

Glow

I know my new artwork doesn’t compensate for the ugly wallpaper that I haven’t gotten around to removing yet,

but you’ve got to start somewhere.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

4 responses »

  1. Ahhh! This is gorgeous!! I’ve got a similar idea in mind for an outdoor light feature that came from something similar to this =)

    Reply
  2. Love this. I have a few Japanese sohji screen I love to put lights behind and change out the paper depending on my decor of the moment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

