RSS Feed

Art Vanity

My daughter just turned three on June 22, so I am currently in Florida, woohoo! Tropical Depression Debby isn’t going to put a damper on my fun! It will, however, put a damper on long blog posts. For the rest of the week (after THIS post) all my posts will be short and sweet, in a series called “An End to my Odds,” which basically is the random small stuff around the house that I have Space-Lifted but never posted.

So without further ado, here is my vanity update in images. Enjoy!

This is how the vanity began. It's super cute, but a bit on the small side.

This is how the vanity began. It’s super cute, but a bit on the small side.

This is how the vanity began. It's super cute, but a bit on the small side.

Here it is with the batwings out.

I disassembled all of the moving parts and primed the whole thing.

I disassembled all of the moving parts and primed the whole thing.

Then I painted it a really ugly “Navajo White” and accented it by painting the stool light blue and (under the advisement of a friend) covered it with orange fabric.

As you can see this was an ugly mistake. I couldn't even find pictures of the vanity, so I must have known it wouldn't stay Navajo White for very long. As a side note: Never take advice when it comes to style (especially if you already have a plan in your head) because you know what you're doing and you shouldn't ever second guess yourself...unless it's for safety reasons....in that case, wear a helmet.

As you can see this was an ugly mistake. I couldn’t even find pictures of the vanity, so I must have known it wouldn’t stay Navajo White for very long. As a side note: Never take advice when it comes to style (especially if you already have a plan in your head) because you know what you’re doing and you shouldn’t ever second guess yourself…unless it’s for safety reasons….in that case, wear a helmet.

I had to do a little drawer repair as well. The Navajo White crackled and there were some pretty jacked up holes I had to fix with wood filler.

I had to do a little drawer repair as well. The Navajo White crackled and there were some pretty jacked up holes I had to fix with wood filler.

Next came Round 2. I disassembled the item again and spray painted it green and pink.

Next came Round 2. I disassembled the item again and spray painted it green and pink.

I used chalk board paint in the middle section of the table. I tried to pull the dividers up and realized that the dividers pulled up all of the fabric.

I used chalk board paint in the middle section of the table. I tried to pull the dividers up and realized that the dividers pulled up all of the fabric.

But I used that to my advantage and filled it in with fabric.

But I used that to my advantage and filled it in with fabric.

This is how it turned out. Because it is Olivia's art vanity, I let her paint the mirror herself. It may not coordinate with the rest of piece, but it's just perfect.

This is how it turned out. Because it is Olivia’s art vanity, I let her paint the mirror herself. It may not coordinate with the rest of the piece, but it’s just perfect to her.

I even screwed on a clip (that use to be attached to my work batch...hooray for free junk!) so she can display her pictures. That's right, this puppy is not just for chalk!

I even screwed on a clip (that use to be attached to my work badge…hooray for free junk!) so she can display her pictures. That’s right, this puppy is not just for chalk!

Happy Birthday

Maybe I didn’t get her a new doll or a sweet game for her birthday, but this gift was made with so much more love than anything I could ever buy!

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

2 responses »

  1. Wow. This looks like such a nice gift for your daughter. It’s colorful and looks brand new.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

