RSS Feed

An End to my Odds #3

No one has ever accused me of being decisive and my clock update is definitely evidence of that. Even when it comes to time (one of the most concrete concepts in existence) I still manage to waffle.

Clock

I bought this clock a couple years ago from Family Dollar (not kidding) for $10. I know it SOUNDS like I’m cheap and will do anything to save a buck, but in reality….that is totally the case.

After two years of living with an antiqued clock, I decided to punch it up a bit. It’s made of (a cheap) metal so I wanted to paint it silver (because I STILL had some left!..and) to stay consistent with it’s texture.

I removed the clock face from the frame and set to work spraying it.

Silver

But alas, I painted it silver and even did a little dry brushed yellow to access the details, but the spray finisher got me AGAIN! As I mentioned in other silver paint projects, the finisher dulls the metallic sheen, which leaves the item looking grey. Once my grey and yellow clock made it up on my wall I decided that it looked like a paler, cheaper version of itself (which is hard to do, considering it cost so little.)

Silver Grey

So… I popped it back out of its happy, little, metal home and sprayed it down with a new color. The prettiest blue ever! EVER! I even painted a frame with it, just because it’s so fantastic…oh AND because I didn’t want to buy a new can…but I digress.

Please excuse my pictures, they were taken at night and I’m not even going to pretend that the bright glow to the left isn’t my attempt at lighting up the place. I am not a photographer; I shouldn’t even be allowed to handle a disposable camera.

Better Blue

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

2 responses »

  1. Kristen I LOVE that new colour on your clock. I have one of those elaborate trashy gold mirrors that I think I am going to paint that smiling colour. Bravo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

