RSS Feed

Price Check

A friend of mine mentioned today that she would love to totally makeover her bedroom but it just seems that the cost would be too high. And she is right, overhauling a room can be expensive… or not.

I’m able to keep my designs low-budget for three big reasons:

1) I love a relaxed, vintage-cottage vibe. I want to live in a place that feels like you’ve either just got in from a campfire or are about to go sit on the beach. Neither are true as far as location, but I’m gradually getting that affect. I don’t like stuffy, I’m not drawn to sleek and I like shiny in small doses. My relaxed taste allows me to be cheap.

2) I have a giving family. If they are done with an item that is in good condition, they see the value of it and will pass it along. Some will do it for sentimental reasons (like my aunt), others do it because they are sick of it (like my mom), and finally the rare case will need me to store it until they move back to town (my sister). I know not everyone has a family who rotates home decor items like a game of hot potato, but there is always SOME UNIQUE CIRCUMSTANCE of which to advantage. As for me, my family allows me to be cheap.

3) The most important (and obvious) reason that I am able to keep costs low is MY INCOME. That’s not to say that I would buy a $17,000.00 armoire even if I COULD afford it (remember reason #1?) but I have to follow the cash flow. If I have $200 to spend on a desk, then I can’t fall in love (you know, true everlasting love) with one that costs $650…(unless I save, which doesn’t happen.) So, my non-negotiable budget allows me to be cheap.

Here’s a look-see into how all of these reasons come together to make MY bedroom.

Purple Bedside Table Link.

Blue Bedside Table Link.

Purple Tray Link.

Cheap Pillow Link.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

2 responses »

  1. you’re so right-we can make do with what we have and still create beautiful spaces

    Reply

Leave a Reply

