RSS Feed

Magazine Reload

Mags

Are your DIY magazines (or fashion, beauty and parenting magazines) taking over your life, but you can’t seem to throw them away? HA, well I am right there with you! I can’t seem to part with my DIY mags because they were my Pinterest before the website was around…

Page

It’s too expensive and time consuming to buy laminated sleeves and rip out every page that I love (primarily because it ends up being the whole dang magazine.)

So let’s just skip the rigamarole, cut out the middle man and clean up our offices (and floors and desks and tables and every other surface that is covered by inspirational fodder.)

Necessary Supplies:

1. Drill with 1/4 inch bit

2. Binder

3. Pen

4. Loose leaf paper or laminated sleeve (optional)

Step 1: Draw your holes.

You can take a laminated sleeve or loose leaf paper to trace holes onto your magazine cover. If you don’t have a sleeve you can just close the magazine in the binder rings and squeeze the rings hard to make little impressions, then put dots on the impressions.

Holes

Busy

NOTE: It’s a good idea to start with a magazine that isn’t near and dear to your heart because there is a bit of a learning curve.

Oops

As you can see…my holes are a bit messy on this one.

Step 2: Drill your holes.It's junk now

Place your magazine on a surface that you’re not partial to, because it ends up looking like this ….

 

 

Drilly drill drill

Drill your holes into the circles you have stenciled. Then flip over the magazine and drill into the holes from the other side.

A little guy.

Step 4: Stencil new holes.

Place your magazine with your newly drilled holes on top of the next magazine and use it as a stencil to plot your next drill points. Then create the holes just like you did the first set.

Stencil

Step 5: Install your magazines!

InstallationYou CAN place waxy sticker reinforcers on the front and back covers of the magazines to keep them from tearing, but the thickness of the whole item should prevent any page damage from the rings.  Just slide your magazines into your binder and clip them shut. Depending on your binder size (I used both 1 inch and 2 inch binders), you can fit 2-4 magazines per binder, depending on the magazine thickness.

See?Because I am not a huge fan of labeling everything (I know, I know, that is practically sacrilege in the realm of DIY home organization. Sometimes they are useful, but is it REALLY easier to find a towel on a shelf because the shelf is marked towels? Um, no. Sometimes all it takes is common sense.) I just organized my binders by magazine (Storage with Storage, House Beautiful with House Beautiful, you get it, right?) and of course grouping the randoms in a binder by themselves.

Storage Mag Binder

Randoms

Step 5: Put it all away.

IMG_3134

Neat and Clean One huge factor in my favor is that I have matching binders. This wouldn’t look as streamlined if I used two blue, one lime and one goldenrod, but if you’re not going for the streamlined look (or if you don’t care to go out and buy new binders) then the rainbow is your oyster!

My logic? I’m a color junkie, but I need muted accessories in order for the showcase items to take center stage.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve nominated you for the Inspiring Blog Award! Congratulations and thank you for inspiring me=)

    http://cozycrookedcottage.wordpress.com/2013/02/27/i-was-nominated-for-an-oscar/

    Reply
    • Oh my goooooosh! WOW! THANK YOU! It means so much to me that you can find something inspirational (or sickly entertaining 🙂 in Space-Lift. I definitely make my way over to the CC Cottage too! I can’t wait to pass it on and thank you again SO much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

