RSS Feed

Clean Slate Plate

One of the biggest pet peeves about my house is my outlets and light switches. They are one of those tiny details that typically fall through the cracks but are a huge giveaway as to the age of a house. I know my house was built in 1964 (every contractor that insists on ANOTHER lead test is always a reminder) but I don’t need every outlet and fixture screaming “I’m retro and I know it” when I walk into a room. Paint

As you can see, previous owners also took a few liberties with paint (because slopping paint all over your outlet isn’t dangerous at all…that was sarcasm. Please don’t paint your outlets.)

I don’t hate the outlets enough to change the faces (yet) but I don’t exactly want to be reminded of a mess that I didn’t even have the privilege of making.

I found these awesome face plates at the Habitat for Humanity Restore, and I bought about 90 of them (before remembering that only about 50% of my house has 3-prong outlets, but who’s counting?…Obviously not me.)

IMG_3741[1]

See? It covers the sins of the painters that came before! In your case, this is a quick and cheap fix that will allow your mind to worry about more pressing matters, like what to have for dinner, or how your March Madness situation is panning out.

In my instance, not even sweet new face plates can cover all of the sins of previous owners…

..because every outlet in my house is upside-down. Oh But that’s a mess for another day.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

12 responses »

  1. We have these in a few rooms too. When I did our family room it was the one thing I splurged on. I think I paid about $40.00 to replace all the plated in that room, it made a big difference though. Some times, it’s just those little details that make such a big difference. I like how sleek the ones you purchased are. How great to have a Habitat for Humanity store near you.

    Reply
  2. Hmmm, not sure if you got the last comment…anyway, thanks for the link in this post. I just discovered we DO have a Habitat for Humanities store in our area. I think I see a road trip in my future – real soon.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Ahhh! I was working on a client’s office where they have almond color outlets that look so dingy against a new white wall. I wanted to change out the plates, but didn’t want to bother with changing the electrical boxes as well, but the clash in new white and dingy almond was even worse! I didn’t know they make these… I’m gonna have to see if my ReStore has them. They’d be PERFECT! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  4. I love new face plates for outlets! They are so nice. I almost giggled when I saw a collection at Home Depot. Switch plates are also a great upgrade, and it is always nice when outlet and light plates match.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

