RSS Feed

Thank God–A Bathroom Story

My bathroom is done and it makes me want to drink dance! It’s been the bane of my existence for about five months. A half bath should NOT have taken so long, but I get sidetracked so easily!

No time for talking

on to the pictures!

Before

Before

Before

Before

During

During

During

During

During

During

During

During

During

During

During. Adding a sink.

During. Adding a sink.

During. Finished.

During. Finished.

New Trim. $1 at Habitat for Humanity ReStore!

New Trim. $1 at Habitat for Humanity ReStore!

After

After

After

After

After

After

After

After

After

After

…then I exhaled.

About Kristen Van Loon

My name is Kristen Van Loon and this is the chronicle of my search for *Oomf!* Not only have I deemed myself qualified to revamp, repair, refurnish and refine my house, but I also jump into any DIY project that my friends, co-workers, family and practical strangers stumble upon. I would love to tell you that this is my full-time job and my complete life mission, but I make my bread and butter elsewhere and raise a daughter (Olivia). I have some experience but no time, no formal training and no money. My only saving grace is that I love figuring things out, I’m great at improvising and I’m always inspired. For the record, some things that I do (play with electricity, for one) may seem risky, and some of them are. I will always tell you what I’ve done, but I won’t ever suggest things for you that aren’t safe. Even though I push the envelope, I am only marginally incompetent. If sources (father, my brain, Google) tell me not to do something then I usually won’t. But if I do try and it blows up in my face (figuratively or literally) you will hear all about it, and you hopefully won’t attempt it. At the end of the day, I hope to inspire you. Space-Lift isn’t just a blog, it’s a verb. It’s an action that brightens your surroundings by assaulting everything that needs improvement. Nothing is off limits, and all possibilities will be considered.

8 responses »

  1. Great job – your bathroom looks so fresh and clean and I love the purple ceiling. I can relate to this post for sure – our weekend bathroom project took us about a month to complete. I felt like dancing too when it was over.

    Cheers to you on a job well done and completed!
    Whats next?

    Reply
  2. The new bathroom looks amazing! I love the floor and how light and bright everything is 🙂

    Reply
  3. Alexis Van Loon

    You did an amazing job with so much work to do. First that multi-layering of wallpaper that had to be stripped, a leaky toliet, a new window install, a new vanity X 2, broken pipe, 2/3 coats of paint. You used almost every tool you owned. Proud of your perserverance.

    Reply
  4. You keep me inspired. I’m so proud of you. The bathroom looks amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

